Moto GP – Catalan GP – Race

A warm-sunny day saw the riders aling at tje grid for the 9th race on the calendar, as championship leader Fabio Quartararo sets to keep the pace at the title standings, meanwhile his closest competitors seek to reduce the point gap on this race weekend.

Lights were off and race went underway, with Quartararo taking an early lead at the brake of the first corner. A big incident also happened at the first turn, as Takaaki Nakagami lost the balance at the braking point and took himself and both Rins and Bagnaia with him.

After of some laps of the race, the Frenchman at the Yamaha started to fly, developing a big gap with him against Martin, Aleix Espargaro and Zarco; The closest chasing group. The Yamaha was constantly sepatating on the lead. Meanwhile, some other crashes were happening on track first Marco Bezzecchi lost it on turn 13 and then both Gresini riders Bastianini and Di Giannantonio meet the gravel on consecutive incidents.

As the laps passed by, there was not much that could be done, as Quartararo gap up front was almost +5 seconds ahead of the closest chasing group, with the battle for podium steps between Jorge Martin and Aleix Espargaro being the main focus of the rsce. It didn’t had much movement ay the back, with a small battle between both KTM riders, Brad Binder and Miguel Oliveira for 8th, as the Portuguese rider wen wide at the brake of turn 1.

As Quartararo was on its way for the 2nd season win, an unexpected event occurred on the chasing group, as Aleix Espargaro deaccelerate on the last lap of the race, it was first though that his bike had a mechanical issue, but then it was discover that there was a comminication error, as both the rider and the team believed that the race wa over. Fortunately the Spaniard , it was only demoted to 5th place at the end of the race. With both Pramac riders closing the podium, Zarco with 3rd and Martin on 2nd.

Race Results:

1. Fabio Quartararo /// 2. Jorge Martin /// 3. Johann Zarco
4. Joan Mir /// 5. Aleix Espargaro /// 6. Luca Marini
7. Maverick Viñales /// 8. Brad Binder /// 9. Miguel Oliveira
10. Alex Marquez /// 11. Remy Gardner /// 12. Darryl Binder
13. Franco Morbidelli /// 14. Jack Miller /// 15. Raul Fernandez
16. Michelle Pirro /// 17. Pol Espargaro

DNF: Andrea Dovizioso, Fabio Di Giannantonio, Enea Bastianini, Marco Bezzecchi, Francesco Bagnaia, Alex Rins, Takaaki Nakagami, Stefan Brald

A dominant victory for Fabio Quartararo that solidifies its status as championship leader, as his main contenders didn’t finish the race or commit costly mistakes that keeps the frenchman as main candidate for defending his crown. Half of the season woll be completed on two weeks, as the calendar moves to Sachsenring, for the 2022 German GP.