MotoGP – Italian GP – Race

Big race on the Mugello Circuit! Close group, constant battles and a thrilling finish at this year’s Italian GP.


On the start it was Marquez who hold the lead against the two Petronas Yamaha riders and saw a super start from Dovi coming from 9th to 3rd and Rins who started from 15th and was 7th on the start of the 1st lap. Marquez was on fron on the first laps, but eventually chased down by Dovi, Petrucci, Miller and an inspired Rins who was on fire at the track. Some riders started to retire at the back, between them, home hero Valentino Rossi due to a crash.

Almost half of the race and the lead was constantly changed by Dovi, Petrucci, Marquez and Rins, with Miller also in the hunt. The battle was developing as a intense strategic battle between the riders. The ducatis were faster on the straights, Marquez’s honda was balanced and the suzuki of Rins was strong on turns

Final laps and the groups got cut, with Jack Miller falling down of his bike after giving the fastest lap on the circuit at that moment, Rins couldn’t keep up with the pace of front and could only wait for a mistake, with a constant change of places of Dovi, Marquez and Petrucci. Last lap and Marquez went for all, going a little wide with Dovi on the braking zone, Danilo Petrucci saw this coming and on a brillant move, overtook both riders and resist the pressure of Marquez to have his maiden victory on MotoGP, the one that he was looking for so many races. 2nd place for Marc Marquez that goes away with a little advantage against the 3rd place, Andrea Dovizioso on the Championship standings, Rins finishes 4th and top 5 was close by Takaaki Nakagami on his best MotoGP finish. 6th it was Maverick Viñales and 7th the wildcard rider Michele Pirro on a remarkable race for him.

Race Results:

1. Danilo Petrucci /// 2. Marc Marquez /// 3. Andrea Dovizioso

4. Alex Rins /// 5. Takaaki Nakagami /// 6. Maverick Viñales

7. Michele Pirro/// 8. Cal Crutchlow /// 9. Pol Espargaro

10. Fabio Quartararo /// 11. Aleix Espargaro/// 12. Joan Mir

13. Jorge Lorenzo /// 14. Karel Abraham /// 15. Andrea Iannone

16. Miguel Oliveira /// 17. Johan Zarco

DNF: Jack Miler, Francesco Bagnaia, Hafizh Syahrin, Valentino Rossi, Franco Morbidelli, Tito Rabat

Great performance for Danilo Petrucci to get his first MotoGP victory and pretty much securing a place on Ducati for the next season. The battle for the tittle is getting interesting and many races on the calendar to go. Can someone take Marquez’s throne? Next up is Cataluña, on 2 weeks.