Formula E – Montreal ePrix – Qualifying

After an exciting season, Formula E is ready for the last two rounds of the championship at the Montréal ePrix. Buemi or Di Grassi, only one of the two drivers will become champion this weekend and the qualifying session was the first step to take that trophy that both drivers want.


Sam Bird, Piquet, Duval, D’Ambrosio, Abt will start the qualifying with the first group. The drivers took their time to start the lap and Piquet was the first one to hit the track. With the chequered flag we had Duval, Abt, Bird, Piquet and D’Ambrosio on top 5.

Nicolas Prost, Frijns, Da Costa, Sarrazin and Lopez will be at group 2. The track was improving and that helped the drivers to make better times, with Sarrazin and Prost improving Duval’s time. The session finished with Sarrazin, Prost, Duval, Abt and Frijns on top.

Buemi, Di Grassi, Rosenqvist, Evans and Vergne will do the third round of qualifying, and probably the most exciting one with both championship contenders there. Buemi has to use his second car because during the FP2 he crashed his Renault and probably he will receive a 10 position grid penalty. The drivers were coming really fast through the Canadian track, specially the championship contenders. Buemi took the first time, but Di Grassi improved it by less than a tenth. Di Grassi, Buemi, Sarrazin, Rosenqvist and Prost were now the top 5 drivers.

Dillman, Engel, Heidfeld, Carroll and Turvey will do the final qualifying round. During this session, for some reason no one improved their times, being Turvey the one on top with an 8th position. A few mistakes from Nick Heidfeld make him to lose a lot of tenths during his lap time. Di Grassi, Buemi, Sarrazin, Rosenqvist and Prost will be the drivers who will fight for the super pole.

Before the start of the super pole Buemi just confirmed he will receive a 10 position grid penalty for changing his battery for his crash during the FP2. Prost was the first driver to make the super lap pole with a time of 1:23.330. Rosenqvist made a lap with a time of 1:24.351, not a good time for the Mahindra driver who made a small mistake on his lap. Sarrazin was fighting now for the super pole and finished the lap with a time of 1:23.179. Now it was time for Buemi, who will receive a 10 position grid penalty, finishing his lap with a time of 1:23.065. Final super pole lap with Di Grassi who finished the session with a time of 1:22.869 taking the pole position.

Pole position for Lucas Di Grassi who will start ahead of Sebastien Buemi who will start 12th due a 10 position grid penalty for changing the battery. Sarrazin, Prost and Rosenqvist completed the top 5.

In a few hours we’ll enjoy the next battle for the championship with Buemi starting behind Di Grassi but with a good advantage. What will happen in Montreal? We’ll know soon. Stay tuned for more updates.