Moto GP – San Marino GP – Qualifying

The championship goes back in action with another 3-week triple header, starting this weekend at the Misano World Circuit Marco Scimoncelli. A track that could be a back in form from all the Yamaha bikes on the gris, as Quartararo, Morbidelli, Viñales and Rossi showed strong pace at previous FP sessions.

First Qualify session saw the Espargaro brothers, Nakagami, Brad Binder and last race winner Miguel Oliveira as main candidates to advance at the next session. As Pol and Aleix were at the top on the first stint on track, with Petrucci and Oliveira on close times. With Riders getting on the second stint. Pol wasn’t going to let go his 1st place, as he constantly improved his lap times; Having only a 2nd spot available, Aleix was still on the last Q2 spot, until Oliveira’s last attempt. A storming lap that was enough to take a place on next session with Pol at 1st place.

Q1 Results:

13. Aleix Espargaró // 14. Takaaki Nakagami // 15. Danilo Petrucci
16. Brad Binder // 17. Tito Rabat
18. Iker Lecuona // 19. Stefan Bradl // 20. Bradley Smith
21. Álex Márquez

DNQ: Cal Crutchlow

The next Session hit the green lights, and riders were on track looking for a pole position. With the first laps completed, Viñales got ahead of the grid for the first minutes, then Rossi took 1st place after the incident from Pol Espargaro. Petronas Yamaha riders also joined the party, as Quartararo and Morbidelli also were on the top times; It was clear that the Pole was going to end with a Yamaha on top. Riders were on the last stint, with Morbidelli and Quartararo on top, meanwhile Viñales went for a quick change of bike and pushed hard for a last attempt. As both Petronas Yamaha slightly improved. Viñales made a spectacular lap and took pole and all time fastest lap. with Morbidelli, Quartararo and Rossi locking a top 4 for Yamaha. 

Q2 results: 

1. Maverick Viñales // 2. Franco Morbidelli  // 3. Fabio Quartararo
4. Valentino Rossi // 5. Jack Miller // 6. Francesco Bagnaia
7. Álex Rins // 8. Joan Mir // 9. Andrea Dovizioso
10. Johann Zarco // 11. Pol Espargaró // 12. Miguel Oliveira

Statement made from Yamaha, as they stull want to be protagonists of this unusual championship and a quite needed qualify for Fabio Quartararo, as he aims to keep championship leadership against Dovizioso. Tomorrow would see if someone can challenge the Yamaha riders on front.