MotoGP – 2020 Spanish GP – RACE

The wait was finally over and the lights were off at “Jerez de la frontera” with the first race of this atypical 2020 season MotoGP championship. A race that had strong top 10 fights, dramatic moments and a great overall race that gives good expectatives throught the next races of the calendar.


As riders approach the first corner, it was Maverick Viñales who took the frst place at the first lap, with a great improvement on the area where he didn´t perform properly, the race starts. Marquez was chasing close with Miller, Quartararo and Bagnaia closing the top 5. eventuallyh Marquez was able to take the lead aganits Viñales, as the driver from Cervera was starting to work a gap, he went wide at the first sector and had to work a comeback from 18th position.

As the race was going to its equator, Fabio Quartararo was the rider who took the lead from Viñales, with Jack Miller also gettiong at second place, there was a constantly pace untili the leading group, until Quartararo started to go away from the pack, Meanwhile Marquez was constantly taking some riders and getting closer to the main group with a phenomenal pace.

At the last laps, there were 2 min point of interests a the race, how the last podium spot was been contested and Marquez who was 5th after passsing Petrucci, Oliveira Rossi and Morbidelli. Chasing Dovizioco and getting closer to a potential podium finish, as Quartararo had a well worked +5 seconds gap. As marquez overtook Dovi, he was at the chase of Miller for 3rd but at 4 laps to end the race, the Spaniard´s bike bloqued and qhe went flying to the gravel, with some evident pain at his arm. the podium battle finished with Doviziozo taking last spot from Miller, Viñales at 2nd place and a well deserved maiden victory for Fabio Quartararo, making him the first french MotoGP winner since 1999.


Race results:

1. Fabio Quartararo  // 2. Maverick Viñales  //3. Andrea Dovizioso
4. Jack Miller // 5. Franco Morbidelli  // 6. Pol Espargaró
7. Francesco Bagnaia  // 8. Miguel Oliveira  // 9. Danilo Petrucci
10. Nakagami Takaaki  // 11. Johann Zarco  // 12. Álex Márquez
13. Brad Binder  // 14. Tito Rabat // 15. Bradley Smith

DNF: Marc Márquez, Iker Lecuona, Valentino Rossi, Aleix Espargaró, Joan Mir, Alex Rins (didn´t started the race due to injury)

A great way to start a championship with a strong race and close battles, and its only getting started. next week, another shot at Jerez, with the Andalucia GP.