ABB Formula E – 2020 Mexico City E-Prix

A new weekend of races with the ABB Formula E championship. After stunning 3 races of the start of the season, and the news that the Sanya E-Prix was cancelled due the coronavirus, now we focus with the Mexico City E-Prix at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguez, where we have a new track layout and the memory of last year’s race where battery was the most important. Do you wanna know what happened this time? Check out our report!


Andre Lotterer started on pole but Nyck de Vries overtook him, even touching the Porsche driver. De Vries couldn’t enjoy the first position so much time because Mitch Evans overtook him, taking the lead and not losing it during the whole race. De Vries started to have problems and started to lose positions against the drivers, but when it was time for Nico Müller to overtake him, the Dragon driver ran away and hit the wall, causing the safety car.

When we had the green flag again, we enjoyed great overtakes, like Sam Bird overtaking Andre Lotterer, taking the podium, and remembering all the moments when he had problems in the past, Lotterer hit the wall and took part of the sponsors with him, and caused a smoke and lost part of his front wing, causing his retirement of the race.

The race continued without so many problems, with a few overtakes and battles, and we had another crash, this time caused by Nyck de Vries, who tried to defend the position against a really fast Antonio Felix da Costa, but he lost the control of his car and hit Sam Bird, making both drivers to lose positions.

Final minutes of the race and while the first position was clear, we had battles for the championship lead between Alexander Sims and Stoffel Vandoorne that finished with the retirement of Stoffel Vandoorne after crashing into the wall and lost all the front wing of his car. The last crash that we saw was Sam Bird who entered the attack mode to defend his podium against Antonio Felix da Costa, but he hit the wall, and after that he crashed into the wall.

Mitch Evans took the victory at the Mexico City E-Prix with Antonio Felix Da Costa second and Sebastien Buemi who finished third. The top 10 was completed with Vergne, Sims, Di Grassi, Rowland, Mortara, Calado and Wehrlein, who took a point after starting at the back of the grid and receiving a drive through penalty.

Next race will be in two weeks with the Marrakesh E-Prix, a new chance to fight for the championship and giving us exciting moments. Stay tuned because this championship is getting more funny!