ABB Formula E – New York ePrix 2 – Race

Hello MiniE Fans,

It’s time for the very final round of the 2018-19 FIA ABB Formula E Championship from Brooklyn, New York. Did you know that New York is twinned with a number of cities; many of whom have hosted an ePrix themselves such as Beijing, Berlin, Hong Kong, Rome and Santiago.


Four drivers headed into the day with a chance to win the title, but when Sebastien Buemi failed to secure pole position, that number reduced to three. Jean-Eric Vergne leads the championship by 22 points from Lucas di Grassi who is three ahead of Mitch Evans. Those drivers qualified in 12th, 11th and 8th respectively. Although, if we have a race as crazy as yesterday, then the qualifying positions actually mean very little. For what it’s worth, Alexander Sims took the pole position – his first in Formula E – ahead of Robin Frijns and Buemi 3rd.

As they got underway, Sims had a stunning start and pulled away with a few battles behind but nothing to the extent of what we saw yesterday – although Lopez did go for a spin on the opening lap for the second time in two races. Sims managed an impressive restart following a safety car due to Lopez (who stopped on track), however Frijns was strong today and eventually found his way through to take victory in New York, by a large margin of 3.2 seconds also. Sims did indeed finish in 2nd place, with a train of cars behind him. Sebastien Buemi completed the podium.

Meanwhile in the title battles; Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi made steady progress through the field, but it was not enough to make sufficient inroads to Vergne or Techeetah; especially with Vergne hovering around the tail end of the points. The Frenchman would eventually finish the race in 7th. Andre Lotterer retired with damage.

Di Grassi would also end up retiring from the race after a collision on the final lap with Mitch Evans, but he wasn’t in a position to take the title anyway.

2018-19 Drivers’ Champion: Jean-Eric Vergne
2018-19 Teams’ Champion: Techeetah


Season five is done, and Jean-Eric Vergne becomes the first two-time champion in Formula E. An incredible season, with some unbelievable races, and some fantastic memories too.

Can Vergne make it three on the trot?
We’ll find out in 2020.

Thanks for joining MiniE drivers over the season.