Moto GP – Austrian GP – Race

A bright sunny day enlights the Red Bull Ring, as the riders get ready for the shortest track of the racing calendar. As on the grid alings the riders, the front row saw Francesco Bagnaia, Maverick Viñales and Brad Binder at the top spots of the front row.

1. Francesco Bagnaia /// 2. Maverick Viñales /// 3. Brad Binder
4. Jack Miller /// 5. Álex Márquez /// 6. Luca Marini
7. Marco Bezzecchi /// 8. Miguel Oliviera /// 9. Fabio Quartararo
10. Johann Zarco /// 11. Aleix Espargaró /// 12. Jorge Martín
13. Pol Espargaró /// 14. Enea Bastianini /// 15. Franco Morbidelli
16. Joan Mir /// 17. Raúl Fernández ///18. Marc Márquez
19. Takaaki Nakagami /// 20. Fabio Di Giannantonio /// 21. Iker Lecuona
22. Augusto Fernández /// 23. Lorenzo Savadori

Lights were off and race begins with Bagnaia holding the leading spot from Brad Binder and Jack Miller. Meanwhile at the back, a incident between Jorge Martin and Fabio Quatararo caused a bowling effect on several riders, as Miguel Oliveira, Marco Bezzecchi and Johann Zarco fell of their bikes.

As the Sprint race continues, it was a 2-horse race at the front between Bagnaia and Binder, as Jack Miller was chased by Luca Marini and Jorge Martin riding at 5th, with a potential race penalty for the early incident. With another incident having the Spaniard involved, as Luca Marini loses control of his bike, as the Pramac rider overtook him from the inside of the corner.

Last few laps of the Sprint were quite calm for the riders up front, especially for Bagnaia, as the current champion was far ahead from Brad Bidner, with the South African with a gap ahead of Jorge Martin, with the Spaniard in front of Alex Marquez with a significant margin. The main focus on race direction was on the battle between Pol Espargaro and both Maverick Viñales and Aleix Espargaro for 6th place. At the end, there were no major changes at the standing and Bagnaia got another Sprint win.

1. Francesco Bagnaia /// 2. Brad Binder /// 3. Jorge Martin
4. Alex Marquez /// 5. Jack Miller /// 6. Pol Espargaro
7. Maverick Viñales/// 8. Aleix Espargaro /// 9. Marco Morbidelli
10. Marc Marquez /// 11. Fabio Di Giannantoino /// 12. Joan Mir
13. Enea Bastianini /// 14. Raul Fernandez /// 15. Fabio Quatararo
16. Iker Lecuona /// 17. Augusto Fernandez

DNF: Johann Zarco, Luca Marini, Lorenzo Savadori, Takaaki Nakagami, Marco Bezzecchi, Miguel Oliveira

A Sprint race that mostly would be remembered for the incident at the first turn, as Francesco Bagnaia extends his championship lead against his closest rivars, as the Italian gets closer to a back to back championship.

MiniBikers – MotoGP
2023 Austrian GP
Sprint Race