Moto GP – Spanish GP – Sprint

4th round of the calendar takes us back to Europe, for a new chapter of the Spanish GP, with the Sprint race being the entrance course of the racing weekend.

It definitely has been an unexpected weekend for some teams and riders, as Aprilia and KTM have been dominated some of the practices sessions and that eventually reflected on the Qualy session, as Aleix Espargaro grabs pole, followed by Jack Miller’s KTM and the Pramac bike from Jorge Martin closing the front row, with Brad Binder at 4th, current Champion Francesco Bagnaia on 5th and returning legend Dani Pedrosa at 6th.

1. Aleix Espargaro /// 2. Jack Miller /// 3. Jorge Martin
4. Brad Binder /// 5. Francesco Bagnaia /// 6. Dani Pedrosa
7. Miguel Oliveira /// 8. Johann Zarco /// 9. Luca Marini
10. Maverick Viñales /// 11. Takaaki Nakagami /// 12. Alex Marquez
13. Fabio Di Giannantoino /// 14. Fabio Quatararo /// 15. Raul Fernandez
16. Alex Rins /// 17. Stefan Brald /// 18. Joan Mir /// 19. Augusto Fernandez /// 20. Jonas Folger /// 21. Iker Lecuona

Race started with a massive shake up on the first corners, as a big accident saw Alex Marquez, Franco Morbidelli, Marco Bezzecchi and Augusto Fernandez all on the ground, with even a bike catching fire. Luckily no big injury happened on the scene and a red flag was shown, as Marshalls started to clean up the mess.

It wasn’t an issue for both KTM riders Brad Binder and Jack Miller, who replicated what they done on the first start and were quickly up in front. Martin, Bagnaia and Aleix were not far behind and several battles occurred on the front group.

As racing was on the last laps, the race quickly shake up quickly, as Binder made a strong move against Miller and Miller was quickly under pressure from Bagnaia, meanwhile Jorge Martin was on his own and without pressure at 4th. Some incidents occured, Alex Marquez went to the gravel, Takaaki Nakagami loses it on turn 9 and Aleix Espargaro fell off after a strong defense against Oliveira.

Sprint results:

1. Brad Binder /// 2. Francesco Bagnaia /// 3. Jack Miller
4. Jorge Martin /// 5. Miguel Oliveira /// 6. Dani Pedrosa
7. Maverick Viñales /// 8. Johann Zarco /// 9. Marco Bezzecchi
10. Luca Marini /// 11. Fabio Di Giannantoino /// 12. Fabio Quatararo
13. Alex Rins /// 14. Raul Fernandez /// 15. Stefan Brald
16. Franco Morbidelli /// 17. Augusto Fernandez /// 18. Iker Lecuona /// 19. Jonas Folger

DNF: Aleix Espargaro, Takaaki Nakagami, Alex Marquez

Binder grabs the 2nd sprint of the season and expect to keep up the momentum for tomorrow’s race, a must point for Bagnaia, as the Italian riders seeks to break the back to back dnf results. A strong result from KTM and Aprilia could develop for tomorrow, but a Ducati rider could also get all the marbles.

MiniBikers – MotoGP
2023 Spanish GP
Sprint Race