Moto GP – San Marino GP – Race

A sunny warm day saw the riders taking part on the 14th race of the season, at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli; On a quite chaotic and contested race, with many retirements included.

First laps of the race we quite messy, as a total of 7 riders abandon on the spam of 3 laps, which were Zarco, Pol Espargaro, Pirro, Di Giannantonio, Morbidelli, and two shocking incidents up front, as Jack Miller lost control as the Aussie was the race leader and later on, it was Marco Bezzecchi who also find the gravel.

The race quicky develop as the top 4 group, composed of Bagnaia, Viñales, Bastianini and Marini, develop a gap against both championship contenders Quartararo, Aleix Espargaro, Pramac rider Jorge Martin and Suzuki rider Alex Rins.

Race crossed its halfway and the leading group was keeping up with Bagnaia as race leader, meanwhile Quartararo was trying to catch up with the top 4 ahead, as Aleix Espargaro struggle to keep up with the Yamaha. Several battles formes on the bext laps, as Bagnaia fiercly defend all the attack attempts of Maverick Viñales, as Enea Bastianini take advantage of this battle to snatch P2 from the Aprillia rider.

The last laps were an intense battle between the next year teammates Francesco Bagnaia and Enea Bastianini, as the Gresini biker pushed constantly, seeking to make a move on the Ducati bike, with constant pressure, as the laps were running by. It looked like Bastianini would take a last sector move on the final lap, but the Ducati looked so firm and stable to defebd on each turn of the track. As both bikes went side by side on the last straigt to the finish line, it was the Ducati bike of Francesco Bagnaia, that manage to hold the lead, by just a +0.034 gap from the Gresini rider Enea Bastianini. Maverick Viñales manage to snatch the last spot on the podium.

Race Results:

1. Francesco Bagnaia /// 2. Enea Bastianini /// 3. Maverick Viñales
4. Luca Marini /// 5. Fabio Quartararo /// 6. Aleix Espargaro
7. Alex Rins /// 8. Brad Binder /// 9. Jorge Martin
10. Alex Marquez /// 11. Miguel Oliveira /// 12. Andrea Dovizioso
13. Raul Fernandez /// 14. Stefan Brald /// 15. Takaaki Nakagami
16. Darryl Binder /// 17. Marco Bezzecchi ///18. Jack Miller
19. Remy Gardner /// 20. Fabio Di Giannantonio /// 21. Kazuki Watanabe

DNF: Franco Morbidelli, Johann Zarco, Michelle Pirro and Aleix Espargaro

An intense and fierce battle that keeps the championship on the line, as Quartararo’s lead could be in danger from both Aleix Espargaro and an inspired Francesco Bagnaia, on the minimal mistake commited. Another mention to Andrea Dovizioso who finishes a respectable careeer adter a last point finish results, as the last 6 races would see Cal Crutchlow replacing the Italian rider.