Moto GP – Argentina GP – Race

A clear sunny day enlights on the Termas del Rio Hondo circuit, as the round 3 of the 2022 calendar makes a long awaited return to Argentina, after a 2-year absence

With the lights getting off, the Pramac rider Jorge Martin was the leader after the end of the first lap, with poleman Aleix Espargaro following behind, Luca Marini, Aleix Espargaro and Alex Rins closed the provisional top 5.

First laps saw the current champion Fabio Quartararo being demoted from 6th to 13th, as the Yamaha was going on a battle with Johann Zarco, with the Pramac rider eventually being the protagonist of the first race incident some laps later.

As the race was constantly developing, the Aprillia bike of Aleix Espargaro was looking as the strongest bike on track, but not the one with the best grip, Alex Rins took 2nd after a wide turn of Aleix, and then both riders started a battle for the 2nd place. This was a small relief for race leader, as the gap increased up to a +1 second difference.

As the race was getting closer to its half, Aleix Espargaro started to gain on the Pramac bike, with a high expectancy that the Aprillia could catch the Pramac bike on some laps later, some other retirements occurred on the race, Franco Morbidelli due to a mechanical issue and Pol Espargaro crashing on turn 4 and losing the chance of a podium result.

It was clear that the battle for victory was between Jorge Martin and Aleix Espargaro, as the 3rd place Alex Rins was almost +2 seconds behind of the race leaders. Both Aleix and Jorge were looking strong as their battle was intensifying at the race was coming to an end. Fabio Di Giannantonio was the next retirement a incident on turn 11

Eventuall with 3 laps to go, Aleix Espargaro made a solid move on Jorge Martin and created a gap on the Pramac rider. As the Aprillia bike only needed to take it home and secure his maiden MotoGP race win for him and the Aprillia team, Jorge Martin finishes 2nd and Alex Rins closes a all-Spaniard podium at the Argentina GP

Race Results:

1. Aleix Espargaro /// 2. Jorge Martin /// 3. Alex Rins
4. Joan Mir /// 5. Francesco Bagnaia /// 6. Brad Binder
7. Maverick Viñales /// 8. Fabio Quartararo /// 9. Marco Bezzecchi
10. Enea Bastianini /// 11. Luca Marini /// 12. Pol Espargaro
13. Takaaki Nakagami /// 14. Miguel Oliveira /// 15. Alex Marquez
16. Raul Fernandez /// 17. Remy Gardner ///18. Darryl Binder
19. Stefan Brald /// 20. Andrea Dovizioso

DNF: Fabio Di Giannantonio, Aleix Espargaro, Franco Morbidelli, Johann Zarco

After a 200th race weekend, Aleix Espargaro finally get his first win at MotoGp and the firs career win for Aprillia. A historic result that could develop a significant contender for this yesr’s championship. we’ll see if the team could keep up the pace at COTA, for the next week United States GP.