MOTO GP – Dutch GP – Race

Warm and sunny day at the temple of velocity, a historic venue recieved the 9th race of the calendar and the last one before the summer break. With a strong Yamaha up front, it was hard to tell who could battle the two bikes in front.

Ligths were off and the Ducati of Francesco Bagnaia went up front of Quartararo, Nakagami, Viñales, Rins, Zarco and Miller. Marc was 10 after stating 20th and Rossi did the opposite by starting 12th and ending lap 1 at 21th. Alex Rins lost a lot of time after going off track while battling Johan Zarco.

First laps were a hard battle between the leaders, as Quartararo keep pushing hard on the technical sector of the track, Bagnaia found its way to keep the position. Eventually, the Frenchman could make a move on the Italian rider and had free way to start developing a strong pace. Meanwhile Bagnaia had to start defending agaist Nakagami, Viñales, Miller, Mir and Oliveira.

By lap 10, Quartararo was far gone and the only battle available was for the other podium steps, as Bagnaia tried to defend the 2nd spot, he crossed the track limits and was penalized with a long lap run, meanwhile there was some movements at front, as Nakagami went wide on track and Miller went to the gravel.

Eventually, the battle at podium steps was between Joan Mir and Maverick Viñales, because Quartararo was +4 seconds ahead, with the Spaniard on the Yamaha coming up front and also separating from the Mir. there was not much movement in front, some battles were ahead like Bagnaia, Marc Marquez and Aleix Espargaro fighting for 6th

At the end, Quartararo got his 4th win of the season and fortifies the chase for his first championship, Viñales closes a 1-2 finish on a perfect weekend for Yamaha and Joan Mir rescues an unexpected podium for Suzuki.

Race Results:

1. Fabio Quartararo /// 2. Maverick Viñales /// 3. Joan Mir
4. Johann Zarco /// 5. Miguel Oliveira /// 6. Francesco Bagnaia
7. Marc Marquez /// 8. Aleix Espargaro /// 9. Takaaki Nakagami
10. Pol Espargaro /// 11. Alex Rins /// 12. Brad Binder
13. Danilo Petrucci /// 14. Alex Marquez /// 15. Enea Bastianini
16. Lorenzo Savadori /// 17. Garret Gerloff  ///18. Luca Marini
19. Luca Marini

DNF: Iker Lecuona, Jack Miller, Jorge Martin, Valentino Rossi

Dominant win from Fabio Quartararo, who extends the lead against Bagnaia and Zarco. With a long summer break up next, there’s a lot of work for Ducati if they still want to compete for the championship on the last 10 races of the calendar.