Moto Gp – Valencia GP – Race

A big raceday upon us at the second race of the doubleheader at Circuit Ricardo Tormo, where Joan Mir could seal an iconic season with a championship on the main category.

Race started with Franco Morbidelli leading from the rest of the pack, with a win today he could had a chance on the season ending race, if Mir doesnt ended higher than 10th. Ironically, that was Mir’s position at the first lap, meanwhile Rins was 7th and Quartararo went wide on first turn and was one place ahead of last.

The provisonal podium was still standing, as Jack Miller and Pol Espargaro kept their places from where they finished the first lap, meanwhile Nakagami and Oliveira closed the top 5. It slowly became a strategic and pacience race as overtakes were not a main factor, but close battle were still shown on track

Another big factor were the crashes, as championship runner up, Fabio Quartararo went to the gravel and ended his chances for the title. Also Johann Zarco felt in the same turn 1 spot. giving another provisional point for Mir at the title race.

Some chases started to become battles, as Mir got away from Aleix Espargaro on a clean pass and was benefit as Aleix had to defend position from Dovi. Meanwhile Nakagami was on the hunt of a podium spot, chasing Pol Espargaro until he could make a move, then on the final turn of the track, Nakagami went for the inside, but lost control of the bike and lost another oportunity of a podium finish.

As race was coming to an end, the battle up front started to get intense, as Miller got quite closely to Morbidelli, closing the gap lap by lap, until Miller finally make a move on the start of the first lap, but Morbidelli strike back, then Jack done another move, but Fabio counter it correctly. Defending from every move the Ducati could do and take it home for the 3rd time on this season after a spectacular battle with Miller that finishes 2nd and Pol Espargaro closes with back to back podium result. With a 7th place finish, Joan Mir becomes the 2020 Moto Gp champion

Race results:

1. Franco Morbidelli /// 2. Jack Miller  /// 3. Pol Espargaro
4. Alex Rins /// 5. Brad Binder /// 6. Miguel Oliveira
7. Joan Mir /// 8. Andrea Dovizioso /// 9. Aleix Espargaro
10. Maverick Viñales /// 11. Francesco Bagnaia /// 12. Valentino Rossi
13. Cal Crutchlow /// 14. Stefan Bradl /// 15. Danilo Petrucci
16. Alex Marquez /// 17. Tito Rabat /// 18. Lorenzo Savadori

DNF: Takaaki Nakagami, Johann Zarco, Fabio Quartararo

Joan Mir becomes world champion after one complicated start of the season with hardwork, consistency and a lot of comeback like his teammate. Easily one of the most unexpected outcomes that this season could imagine, with both Suzuki riders finishing on top on both riders and constructors championship.

Next week the season finale at Portugal, at Portimao. A track that could bring one last exciting race on this remarkable season.