ABB Formula E – 2019 Ad Diriyah E-Prix R2

With the second race of the season over, the ABB Formula E showed us that everything can change between races. What yesterday was the perfect race for some drivers, it changed completely today, and also the other way.


Alexander Sims started again on pole, and this time, it was able for him to finish the race on top. During the first minutes of the race we saw great battles for the podium and also problems for other drivers, like Buemi, who was hit by Antonio Felix da Costa and spun, losing all the positions and receiving a penalty for re-joining the track without safety measures, and also a penalty for Da Costa for causing a collision.

Safety Car appeared again when Sam Bird finished his race in the wall after being touched by Mitch Evans… but not happy with that, Pascal Wehrlein also hit the British driver, making him to finish the race into the wall. When the green flag was shown, Alexander Sims used the attack mode to put some space between him and Da Costa, but we had a full course yellow because the marshalls were still on-track recovering Bird’s car.

If we wanted more chaos, another safety car appeared when Robin Frijns hit the wall… a bad day for Envision Virgin Racing, both drivers DNF and while we had the safety car on track, the penalties and investigations started to appear everywhere, brining us an end of the race like the ones that we’re used to, with a provisional grid.

Alexander Sims won the second race in Ad Diriyah and BMW achieved a 1-2 victory with Maximilian Günther in 2nd position, but probably will receive a penalty because he overtook a few drivers under the safety-car period. Lucas Di Grassi finished 3rd and the top 10 was completed with Vandoorne, Mortara, Rowland, De Vries, Turvey, Abt and Calado.

That’s all for now. The ABB Formula E championship has started with the madness that we are used to, but this is not over, because in January we will have the next round of the championship. Stay tuned because this has started and we can’t wait to know who will win this season.