MotoGP – French GP – Race

5th race of the calendar and 2nd one on European lands at the circuit of Le Mans, where some crashes, overtakes and close battles where present on this year’s French GP.


The action started from the formation lap, when Johan Zarco made a lock brake at the first corner of the track, and riders behind Joan Mir and Karel Abraham went to the ground on a try to avoid impact with the KTM. Mir did started the race, but eventually lapped, Abraham was black flagged because he started laps later

On the start it was Jack Miller who was giving the fight to Marquez on front, instead of the two oficial Ducatis, Valentino Rossi and Franco Morbidelli; Miller was actually having better pace than Marquez on the first laps, even had the lead for a few laps

But the Spaniard from Cervera, with his reliable Honda is really something hard to beat, as Marc increased his pace, regained the lead and started to constantly increase the gap as laps passed by. Dovi overtook Miller as his bike struggle to keep up ahead, but the Aussie did a strong effort to still be on battle with Petrucci and Rossi. Some riders were retiring from the race due to the tricky conditions of the track, like Bagnaia and Viñales who both crashed.

Last laps and as Marquez made a confortable gap to seal his 3rd win of the season, but behind some things were happening, a local hero was storming a comeback, Fabio Quartararo after falling to 13th place was making the best pace of the race, even better than race leader, overtaking Aleix Espargaro, Lorenzo, Rins and Crutchlow in only a few laps, a remarkable performance for the french rider.

Marquez eventually got the chequered flag and grab another Win on this season, with Dovizioso and Petrucci completing the podium, after a intense battle between these two riders, Miller entered 4th place, just a little ahead of Valentino Rossi, who completes the the top 5.

Race Results:

1.Marc Marquez /// 2.Andrea Dovizioso /// 3. Danilo Petrucci

4.Jack Miller /// 5.Valentino Rossi /// 6.Pol Espargaro

7. Franco Morbidelli /// 8. Fabio Quartararo /// 9. Cal Crutchlow

10. Alex Rins /// 11. Jorge Lorenzo /// 12. Aleix Espargaro

13. Johan Zarco /// 14. Hafizh Syahrin /// 15. Miguel Oliveirs

16. Joan Mir

DNF: Takaaki Nakagami, Andrea Iannone, Maverick Viñales, Francesco Bagnaia, Tito Rabat, Karel Abraham.

Can someone match the pace of the Honda? what is the future of the second seat on Ducati? Can Yamaha return to the top place of the podium? Next up is at Italy, Circuit of Mugello, on 2 weeks.