MotoGP – Qatar GP – Qualifying

The wait is finally over! After a long time lapse of more than 4 months, The International Circuit of Losail is set for the start of the 2019 Moto GP Championship. With many rule changes, new faces and even a new team entering the grid, we expect many thrilling moments on the next 19 races to come. Starting today with the qualifying session of the Qatar GP.


The first group of riders, fearturing the new Honda rider, Jorge Lorenzo, The Italian “Dottore” Valentino Rossi, KTM rider Johan Zarco and the experienced englishman Cal Crutchlow as the main candidate for a place on Q2. The last one mentioned started with the top spot on the first laps of the session, followed by Lorenzo and the Japanese rider Takaaki Nakagami, with Rossi and Rookie Francesco Bagnaia on the hunt. Last minutes on the clock and drama apearrs, as Lorenzo suffers an accident that ends his chances for a Q2 spot, as also for Tito Rabat and Johan Zarco who also had an accident. At the end, the two LCR Honda Riders get a place through next session, with a consistent Crutchlow on first place and an impressive Nakagami on second.

Q1 Results:

13. Francesco Bagnaia  /// 14. Valentino Rossi  /// 15. Jorge Lorenzo
16. Pol Espargaró  /// 17. Miguel Oliveira  /// 18. Tito Rabat
19. Andrea Iannone  /// 20. Karel Abraham  /// 21. Johann Zarco
22. Hafizh Syahrin  /// 23. Bradley Smith

Q2 got green lights and riders emerged from the boxes, with an inspired Maverick Viñales as the Spaniard set the strongest lap at the start of the session, followed by Nakagami, Dovizioso, French Rookie Fabio Quartararo and Marquez, meanwhile the already mentioned and the rest of the pack tried to improve their times, Viñales was on another pace and remained first mostly all the session and even improving his lap times, gaining his 7th MotoGP pole position in his carrer (1.53.546), with Dovi and Marquez completing the first row, with a special mention to Quartararo, getting a top 5 on his qualy debut.

Q2 Results:

1. Maverick Viñales /// 2. Andrea Dovizioso /// 3. Marc Márquez
4. Jack Miller /// 5. Fabio Quartararo /// 6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Danilo Petrucci /// 8. Franco Morbidelli /// 9. Takaaki Nakagami
10. Álex Rins /// 11. Joan Mir /// 12. Aleix Espargaró

The qualifying is done, the 2019 season is underway. Who is the main candidate for the title? Who get the first win of the season? MotoGP is Back!