MotoGP – San Marino GP – Race

A warm sunny day at San Marino, perfect conditions for the 13th race of the MotoGP calendar a the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli. Good race with some overtakes, nice battles and a late drama at the San Marino GP.


Race started with a Danilo Petrucci havin trouble to start his bike, but eventually made it to the grid before the lights turn off; First lap saw how Andrea Dovizioso and Marc Marquez made some outstanding moves, as both climbed 2nd and 3rd respectively; Jack Miller fell of his bike when he was trying to recover 3rd place for Marquez

Some laps later, the Ducati riders were on the battle for the top, as Lorenzo was leading with his teammate Dovizioso closing the gap, eventually the Italian rider made the move and was the new leader of the race; Marquez then overtakes Lorenzo and started another battle, just like in Austria.

Half of the race was done, and Dovi keeps a strong pace, as he opened a gap of +2.5 seconds ahead Marquez and Lorenzo, as they keep fighting for 2nd place; Lorenzo made a great move against Marquez and started to close the gap with Dovizioso with 5 laps to go, cutting the gap on half and getting considerable close.

2 laps to go and the late Drama ocurred, Lorenzo lost the bike on turn 8 and practically buries his championship chances and complicates the constructors standings for Ducati; Without any other problem, Andrea Dovizioso wins his 3rd race of the season and 10th motoGP carrer win, with Marquez on 2nd place and Cal Crutchlow obtains an unexpected podium after Lorenzo´s mistake.

Final Classification:

1. Andrea Dovizioso  /// 2. Marc Marquez  /// 3. Cal Crutchlow
4. Alex Rins  /// 5. Maverick Viñales /// 6. Dani Pedrosa
7. Valentino Rossi /// 8 Andrea Iannone /// 9. Alvaro Bautista
10. Johann Zarco /// 11. Danilo Petrucci /// 12. Franco Morbidelli
13. Takaaki Nakagami /// 14. Aleix Espargaro /// 15. Michelle Pirro
16. Bradley Smith /// 17. Jorge Lorenzo  /// 18. Jack Miller
19. Hafizh Syahrin /// 20. Karel Abraham /// 21. Thomas Luthi
22. Thomas Luthi /// 23. Christophe Ponsson

DNF: Stefan Bradl, Pol Espargaro, Xavier Simeon

Dovizioso gets second place after the race win and tries to close the gap with championship leader Marc Marquez, who has a clear advantage as we get close on the last races of the calendar. Can Dovi close the gap even more at Motorland Aragon? Does  Marquez already has clinched his 4th MotoGP championship? Many cuestions and only the skills, consistency and a bit of luck would tell us who gets the MotoGP title.