Formula E – 2017 Mexico City ePrix – Qualifying

Formula E is back again with the Mexico City ePrix. Esteban Gutiérrez will make his debut in Formula E with Techeetah replacing Ma Qing Hua from this race. The qualifying session finished a few minutes ago and we know the name of the poleman for the ePrix that will start later.


The first qualifying group will be done with the championship contenders Buemi, Di Grassi, Mitch Evans and Nick Heidfeld. Buemi was really agressive on his lap trying to make the best time possible, he wanted the 4th win in a row but Bird made a faster lap than the Renault driver, but the surprise was Heidfeld who made the fastest lap. The top 5 of the session was Heidfeld, Bird, Buemi, Evans and Di Grassi.

Second group will be held with Daniel Abt, Da Costa, Jose Maria Lopez, Sarrazin and Turvey. Abt improved the laps of everyone and Lopez finished really close to him. Da Costa made the 5th fastest lap and Sarrazin the 7th, but Turvey made even a faster lap finishing on provisional pole. Turvey, Abt, Lopez, Heidfeld and Bird were not the top 5 drivers who could go to super pole.

Half of work done and now it’s time for the third group with Loic Duval, Robin Frijns, Nelson Piquet, Nico Prost and Jean Eric Vergne, the french driver will held a 3 position grid penalty for ignoring yellow flags during the shakedown yesterday. Duval crashed his car at the start of the session, causing a red flag and problems for the other drivers. When we had the green flag again Vergne manaeg to reach the 4th position, but the other drivers were out of top 10. Now the provisional top 5 were Turvey, Abt, Lopez, Vergne and Heidfeld.

Fourth round with Adam Carroll, Jerome D’Ambrosio, Maro Engel, Esteban Gutiérrez and Felix Rosenqvist. Engel will held a 10 position grid penalty after changing his gearbox. The mexican driver was making his first Formula E qualifying. D’Ambrosio managed to reach 8th position, Engel reached 4th position, Gutiérrez 13th and Carroll 14th.

Time for super pole with Turvey, Abt, Lopez, Engel and Vergne. Who will get the pole position? Vergne was the first driver to make his lap and made a 1:03.202 time, but he wasn’t happy with that. Time for Engel who stopped the time at 1:03.045, being faster than Vergne. Lopez was going really fast on his superpole lap and finished on second position for now with 1:03.072 time. It was Abt’s turn now who was comming on purple time and made a 1:02.711 lap time. The final lap was for Oliver Turvey on his 30th birthday, he made a 1:02.867 lap with a 2nd position

Pole position for Daniel Abt with Oliver Turvey 2nd and Jose Maria Lopez 3rd, because Maro Engel has a 10 position grid penalty for gearbox. The top 10 will be completed with Vergne, Heidfeld, Bird, Da Costa, D’Ambrosio, Buemi and Rosenqvist.